Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

The Divide Golf Club
6803 Stevens Mill Rd
Matthews, NC 28104
(704) 628-6438
www.thedividegolfclub.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.13 stars - "Worth playing" (16 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $39, Weekend $55

Practice Area:

Great place to practice all facets of your game. Grass tee driving range. Chipping green with sand bunker. Large putting green.

Course photo

Description

This residential course is located just off I-485 in the Matthews-Mint Hill area. Several holes can be seen from the highway as you drive by. Fun course to play with different types of challenges -- water, tight fairways, length, doglegs and bunkered greens -- evenly sprinkled among all 18 holes.

Notes

The Divide came under new management (Pinnacle Golf Properties) in 2014 and memberships & discounts can now be shared across its former sister courses in the old Carolina Trail -- Highland Creek, Tradition, Highland Creek, and Waterford. The course underwent a much-needed greens renovation in August 2020 and now has Diamond Zoysia greens in place of the Bent grass that typically suffered in late summer.

B-Man's Take

Another course I grew to like once I got to know the nuances -- such as where you can hit driver off the tee and where you should play it safe. It winds through a neighborhood. So there are plenty of O.B. and spectators throughout all 18 holes. The course has a very good mix of easy and difficult holes, but overall to score well you'll have to keep your tee shots in play. The new (as of Fall 2020) Diamond Zoysia greens should be in good shape year round. My favorite holes are the 501yd par 5 5th hole, reachable in 2 with a good drive, and the 568yd par 5 18th, the signature hole with an approach over water. The course can play tough too, so there are hell holes here and there, especially the 450yd par 4 8th hole and the 407yd par 4 dogleg left 16th hole. Make par on those two holes and you just shaved 3-4 strokes off a typical score.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72692273.5137
Men's (Blue)72650671.9131
Other (White)72609069.3123
Ladies (Red)72518369.9122
View the complete scorecard for this course

News & Updates

  • 4/15/21 - Review by dad4204

    "Average"

    Fairways were Ok, I again had a lot of tight lies, but Ok. The greens were horrible. Something has happened to them. It was like putting over a jigsaw puzzle the way the ball hopped and bounced. A lot of them were half dead ?? Oh well, on to another course next week.

    Read The Review
  • 2/21/21 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Bad, stay away"

    Stay away from this course until they get their stuff together. Greens were borderline unplayable, if they had grass. Sunset Hills has better greens. The course was soaked. Tee boxes were awful- most had no grass and were soaked. To charge $55 for a round on these conditions is laughable. Just donít play here right now.

    Read The Review
  • 11/20/20 - Review by averagejoebacknine

    "Below average"

    I thought they had great new greens but they were terrible, whole course definitely needs help from bare tee boxes muddy fairways. Super wet even though it has been days since rain. Not worth what they are charging.

    Read The Review
  • 10/6/20 - Review by Jonny

    "Worth playing"

    I've been reading some good reviews about the upgrades to this course, including the addition of the Diamond Zoysia greens so it's been on my list of courses to play. Today it got checked off. I had a 12n Tuesday tee time and the weather was perfect for golf. When I got there at 11am to hit some balls off the driving range, I learned it was closed for some repairs. The Pro Shop guy said I could go ahead and start if I was ready so I did. This course plays very well. The fairways are in great shape and the course is wide open for the most part. There are some narrow fairways but maybe just a couple. There are just a few holes that leave you with a blind shot on the doglegs. I've never played on Diamond Zoysia so I wasn't sure what to expect. Just about a month in to the install and they still have a ways to go. It's almost like playing on green and silver sand with a little grass thrown in. It was very difficult to get a read on your putts. I especially liked the Par 3's on both sides, very accessible and set up nicely. I especially liked #18 which they consider their 'signature' hole. Which is 524 yards from the White tees. You have to go over a little creek to a landing area and then over a little pond to the green. It's visually appealing and wide open with all the water. There were several tee boxes that were in pool repair and in some cases just no grass at all, just bare dirt. That was disappointing to see. They get $32 riding for a Sr during the week which isn't bad. Their carts are gas and they keep them all clean and are following COVID guidelines. All the Staff I came in contact with were friendly and professional. Shout out to Gary who gave me some guidelines on some of the holes. I would highly recommend this course.

    Read The Review
  • 9/15/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Got my first chance to play the new Diamond Zoysia greens at The Divide, the closest course to my house and one I've been waiting for its return to glory. This is a good start. The new greens are soft and they can't cut em really yet. So they were expectedly slow, but fairly smooth on the roll. It was difficult to get the putts to the hole no matter how much you tell yourself to hit em hard. It will likely be a few more weeks before they are able to keep them lower and faster, but I can certainly see the potential. And they beat the heck out of late summer bent grass you are seeing at Olde Sycamore and Carolina Lakes right now, to name a couple. The rest of the course was in really good shape, as you would expect for a month of no play. The tees and fairways are about as good as they get here. The bunker work over the past week was well done. So they were all very playable. Several greens have very wet, muddy entrances or surrounds -- so you will get no run up and likely some plugged lies. This affects play on #3, #4, #12 and #16 in particular. Speaking of #16, this is one of my least favorite golf holes in all of Charlotte and unfortunately today the Blue tees were all the way back and set on the left side of the tee box. That gives left-to-right drivers like me no chance on this hole. I had a +7 round going until a triple on this hole derailed me. I did nearly ace #17 though for a bounce back birdie. All in all it was a good round and the course is very playable now. By next month, I am sure the greens will be very good. And then this course should make its way back on my playlist. A couple of other notes - the practice green is not open yet -- they are giving it a few more days to grow in. Also the rate for a weekday afternoon is a bit pricey ($44) for now. Once the greens have grown in to the point they can cut em fast, then I'd say fair price. And lastly... there are still no Gold tees?!? I've mentioned this several times and haven't gotten an answer yet. This meant that the Blue tees I normally play were sometimes back on the Gold tee box (today this happened on #1, #3, #9, #12, #14, and #16). The course is already fairly long from the Blues and this made it play over 6600 yards. I'll try to find out what the deal is on tee boxes. If you play The Divide over the next month, please post a review so I can keep track of its progress.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Latest Forum Post

Birkdale CLOSED until August

By MosherH'ville on 6/15/21

Appears the new greens are going in at Birkdale. Walked up to practice and they said everything is dead and closed until some time in August.

Instagram

@charlottegolfer