Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Highland Creek Golf Club


"Average"

9/21/20: Review by Jonny

I played this course on a Monday in September, it was sunny and about 70 degrees but a very strong & gusty wind, maybe 20 to 25 mph. I had never played this course before so that certainly impacted conditions of play and my experience overall. I would say, the front...

The Divide Golf Club
6803 Stevens Mill Rd
Matthews, NC 28104
(704) 628-6438
www.thedividegolfclub.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.43 stars - "Worth playing" (23 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $39, Weekend $55

Practice Area:

Great place to practice all facets of your game. Grass tee driving range. Chipping green with sand bunker. Large putting green.

Course photo

Description

This residential course is located just off I-485 in the Matthews-Mint Hill area. Several holes can be seen from the highway as you drive by. Fun course to play with different types of challenges -- water, tight fairways, length, doglegs and bunkered greens -- evenly sprinkled among all 18 holes.

Notes

The Divide came under new management (Pinnacle Golf Properties) in 2014 and memberships & discounts can now be shared across its former sister courses in the old Carolina Trail -- Highland Creek, Tradition, Highland Creek, and Waterford. The course underwent a much-needed greens renovation in August 2020 and now has Diamond Zoysia greens in place of the Bent grass that typically suffered in late summer.

B-Man's Take

Another course I grew to like once I got to know the nuances -- such as where you can hit driver off the tee and where you should play it safe. It winds through a neighborhood. So there are plenty of O.B. and spectators throughout all 18 holes. The course has a very good mix of easy and difficult holes, but overall to score well you'll have to keep your tee shots in play. The new (as of Fall 2020) Diamond Zoysia greens should be in good shape year round. My favorite holes are the 501yd par 5 5th hole, reachable in 2 with a good drive, and the 568yd par 5 18th, the signature hole with an approach over water. The course can play tough too, so there are hell holes here and there, especially the 450yd par 4 8th hole and the 407yd par 4 dogleg left 16th hole. Make par on those two holes and you just shaved 3-4 strokes off a typical score.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72692273.5137
Men's (Blue)72650671.9131
Other (White)72609069.3123
Ladies (Red)72518369.9122
View the complete scorecard for this course

News & Updates

  • 9/15/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Got my first chance to play the new Diamond Zoysia greens at The Divide, the closest course to my house and one I've been waiting for its return to glory. This is a good start. The new greens are soft and they can't cut em really yet. So they were expectedly slow, but fairly smooth on the roll. It was difficult to get the putts to the hole no matter how much you tell yourself to hit em hard. It will likely be a few more weeks before they are able to keep them lower and faster, but I can certainly see the potential. And they beat the heck out of late summer bent grass you are seeing at Olde Sycamore and Carolina Lakes right now, to name a couple. The rest of the course was in really good shape, as you would expect for a month of no play. The tees and fairways are about as good as they get here. The bunker work over the past week was well done. So they were all very playable. Several greens have very wet, muddy entrances or surrounds -- so you will get no run up and likely some plugged lies. This affects play on #3, #4, #12 and #16 in particular. Speaking of #16, this is one of my least favorite golf holes in all of Charlotte and unfortunately today the Blue tees were all the way back and set on the left side of the tee box. That gives left-to-right drivers like me no chance on this hole. I had a +7 round going until a triple on this hole derailed me. I did nearly ace #17 though for a bounce back birdie. All in all it was a good round and the course is very playable now. By next month, I am sure the greens will be very good. And then this course should make its way back on my playlist. A couple of other notes - the practice green is not open yet -- they are giving it a few more days to grow in. Also the rate for a weekday afternoon is a bit pricey ($44) for now. Once the greens have grown in to the point they can cut em fast, then I'd say fair price. And lastly... there are still no Gold tees?!? I've mentioned this several times and haven't gotten an answer yet. This meant that the Blue tees I normally play were sometimes back on the Gold tee box (today this happened on #1, #3, #9, #12, #14, and #16). The course is already fairly long from the Blues and this made it play over 6600 yards. I'll try to find out what the deal is on tee boxes. If you play The Divide over the next month, please post a review so I can keep track of its progress.

    Read The Review
  • 8/5/20 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "The Divide closing for greens renovation this month"

    Great news for The Divide! The course was approved for a $350k greens renovation starting this month. The greens will be sodded with Diamond Zoysia grass, the same as Eagle Chase in Marshville (and those have been good year round).

    The work starts next week and the course plans to re-open for play around Labor Day. Stay tuned for progress details and a more solid date for re-opening, as I will be keeping tabs on it (I live 3 minutes away).

    I spoke to the team at The Divide and Pinnacle Golf Properties and they said Birkdale is on the schedule for next summer -- which will leave only The Tradition and Highland Creek of the former Carolina Trail courses under PGP management with Bentgrass greens. Those courses would be next on the list for future renovations.

    Whenever you hear rumors about courses like this or have major issues with a course, send me a feedback message -- as I can usually get an answer directly from the course in less than 24 hours.

    Read More
  • 7/18/20 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Great course"

    First time playing this course. For some reason the gold tees were not out, so I played 1 set forward which made it somewhat short for me. This helped the scoring, but made it a little mundane off the tee. Overall I like the layout. Greens were a hair fuzzy but rolled good. For bent grass, they are in great shape this tile of year. The course played wet, but not cart path only. Iíll be back- it was a great time and friendly staff.

    Read The Review
  • 6/17/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Worth playing"

    Apparently I am just following around the B-Man. And I tend to agree with him. If you enjoy the layout of the Divide, now is the time to get out there. The course is pretty decent for the price. Greens are running a little slow for my tastes, but putts roll on line.

    Read The Review
  • 6/14/20 - Review by TheClaw

    "Great course"

    First time back here in a long time and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I have always loved the layout here but the conditions of previous years have kept me away. I am ready to add this course back to my regular rotation. Everything was in really good to great shape. The bent grass greens were receptive to iron shots and rolled very true. The highlight to me is always the 18th hole. Such a brilliant risk reward hole and the perfect finishing hole. I always walked and happy to report it is a very walkable course overall. I will be back soon

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Highland Creek Golf Club


"Average"

9/21/20: Review by Jonny

I played this course on a Monday in September, it was sunny and about 70 degrees but a very strong & gusty wind, maybe 20 to 25 mph. I had never played this course before so that certainly impacted conditions of play and my experience overall. I would say, the front...

Latest Forum Post

The Divide closing for greens renovation this month

By The B-Man on 8/5/20

Great news for The Divide! The course was approved for a $350k greens renovation starting this month. The greens will be sodded with Diamond Zoysia grass, the same as Eagle Chase in Marshville (and those have been good year round). The work starts next week and the course...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer