Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

The Divide Golf Club
6803 Stevens Mill Rd
Matthews, NC 28104
(704) 628-6438
www.thedividegolfclub.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

2.58 stars - "Average" (13 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $39, Weekend $55

Practice Area:

Great place to practice all facets of your game. Grass tee driving range. Chipping green with sand bunker. Large putting green.

Course photo

Description

This residential course is located just off I-485 in the Matthews-Mint Hill area. Several holes can be seen from the highway as you drive by. Fun course to play with different types of challenges -- water, tight fairways, length, doglegs and bunkered greens -- evenly sprinkled among all 18 holes.

Notes

The Divide came under new management (Pinnacle Golf Properties) in 2014 and memberships & discounts can now be shared across its former sister courses in the old Carolina Trail -- Highland Creek, Tradition, Highland Creek, and Waterford. The course underwent a much-needed greens renovation in August 2020 and now has Diamond Zoysia greens in place of the Bent grass that typically suffered in late summer.

B-Man's Take

Another course I grew to like once I got to know the nuances -- such as where you can hit driver off the tee and where you should play it safe. It winds through a neighborhood. So there are plenty of O.B. and spectators throughout all 18 holes. The course has a very good mix of easy and difficult holes, but overall to score well you'll have to keep your tee shots in play. The new (as of Fall 2020) Diamond Zoysia greens should be in good shape year round. My favorite holes are the 501yd par 5 5th hole, reachable in 2 with a good drive, and the 568yd par 5 18th, the signature hole with an approach over water. The course can play tough too, so there are hell holes here and there, especially the 450yd par 4 8th hole and the 407yd par 4 dogleg left 16th hole. Make par on those two holes and you just shaved 3-4 strokes off a typical score.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72692273.5137
Men's (Blue)72650671.9131
Other (White)72609069.3123
Ladies (Red)72518369.9122
View the complete scorecard for this course

News & Updates

  • 7/17/21 - Review by T2Green

    "Bad, stay away"

    Unfortunately you can skip this course for the foreseeable future. It's been a year since the new diamond zoysia greens were sodded and they have already had to replace 4 of those. The day we played they had 4 temp greens but still charged the full $55 rate. The other greens are are so shaggy its like putting on the fringe. One positive is fairways in good shape. Literally play anywhere else right now.

    Read The Review
  • 4/15/21 - Review by dad4204

    "Average"

    Fairways were Ok, I again had a lot of tight lies, but Ok. The greens were horrible. Something has happened to them. It was like putting over a jigsaw puzzle the way the ball hopped and bounced. A lot of them were half dead ?? Oh well, on to another course next week.

    Read The Review
  • 2/21/21 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Bad, stay away"

    Stay away from this course until they get their stuff together. Greens were borderline unplayable, if they had grass. Sunset Hills has better greens. The course was soaked. Tee boxes were awful- most had no grass and were soaked. To charge $55 for a round on these conditions is laughable. Just donít play here right now.

    Read The Review
  • 11/20/20 - Review by averagejoebacknine

    "Below average"

    I thought they had great new greens but they were terrible, whole course definitely needs help from bare tee boxes muddy fairways. Super wet even though it has been days since rain. Not worth what they are charging.

    Read The Review
  • 10/6/20 - Review by Jonny

    "Worth playing"

    I've been reading some good reviews about the upgrades to this course, including the addition of the Diamond Zoysia greens so it's been on my list of courses to play. Today it got checked off. I had a 12n Tuesday tee time and the weather was perfect for golf. When I got there at 11am to hit some balls off the driving range, I learned it was closed for some repairs. The Pro Shop guy said I could go ahead and start if I was ready so I did. This course plays very well. The fairways are in great shape and the course is wide open for the most part. There are some narrow fairways but maybe just a couple. There are just a few holes that leave you with a blind shot on the doglegs. I've never played on Diamond Zoysia so I wasn't sure what to expect. Just about a month in to the install and they still have a ways to go. It's almost like playing on green and silver sand with a little grass thrown in. It was very difficult to get a read on your putts. I especially liked the Par 3's on both sides, very accessible and set up nicely. I especially liked #18 which they consider their 'signature' hole. Which is 524 yards from the White tees. You have to go over a little creek to a landing area and then over a little pond to the green. It's visually appealing and wide open with all the water. There were several tee boxes that were in pool repair and in some cases just no grass at all, just bare dirt. That was disappointing to see. They get $32 riding for a Sr during the week which isn't bad. Their carts are gas and they keep them all clean and are following COVID guidelines. All the Staff I came in contact with were friendly and professional. Shout out to Gary who gave me some guidelines on some of the holes. I would highly recommend this course.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer