Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Rocky River Golf Club
6900 Bruton Smith Blvd
Concord, NC 28027
(704) 455-1200
rockyrivergolf.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4.47 stars - "Great course" (18 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $49, Weekend $69

Practice Area:

Grass tee driving range and a chipping / putting green.

Course photo

Description

This semi-private club is located within earshot of Charlotte Motor Speedway and you'll know it if you play during a race week. Designed by Dan Maples and managed by the Embassy Suites-Concord, the course offers stay and play packages similar to a resort course. The clubhouse offers nice views of the 18th green from the Stonehouse Grille. With several risk-reward holes and the amenities, this course is a great place for an outing. The greens were redone in bermuda grass during the summer of 2012.

Notes

Good selection of affordable, annual golf plans, including discounts for Concord residents.

B-Man's Take

I now play here regularly a few times a year. It's typically kept in very nice shape and the staff and amenities are top-notch. It's also fun to play when something's going on at the race track -- the Zmax Dragway stands now rise over the clubhouse and driving range. The course has many unique and memorable holes, including the 555yd par 5 3rd hole with a huge boulder smack in the middle of the fairway -- "Gragg's Rock" is named after Floyd Gragg who directed the opening of the course in 1997. With the conversion to bermuda grass on the greens in 2012, the course remains in great playing shape almost all year round. I enjoy the challenge and scoring opportunities at Rocky River -- I nearly aced the 10th hole (missed by inches) in July 2014.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72697073.5137
Men's (Green)72645070.9130
Other (White)72602869.0125
Ladies (Burgundy)72475468.4119
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - 18-hole photo tour and coupons available

News & Updates

  • 10/14/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    I cannot remember the last time I played Rocky River(15 years?) but it was always a must play course. The course was in great shape in spite of all the rain we had last weekend and it was cart path only. My neighbor and I were paired with a regular golfer at Rocky River and he gave us good advice the whole round , a great guy. I love the layout , I hit the boulder on #3 !, and the views of the surrounding holes and terrain from the tee boxes were awesome. Again why hadn't I played here in that many years?! My only complaint was the pace of play. We teed off a little early to get ahead of a large group of very young golfers and we were playing at a < 4 hour pace until #9 when we caught up with a twosome that were walking. From that point forward it was at least a 5 minute wait on every tee box. We saw the ranger quite a few time and on the back 9 he commented on the slow pace but based on our 12 noon tee time he stated that we were still going to finish within their recommended time frame. We finished at 4:15 so 4 1/2 hours to play. It's definitely walkable so I'll will be back with my push cart. Again a great layout in great shape.

    Read The Review
  • 8/12/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Perfect"

    Much like my review earlier this year, the conditions at Rocky River were pretty much perfect. The Bermuda grass greens are nearly flawless, rolling quick and true with no issues anywhere. Tees, fairways and rough (which is penalizing thick stuff) were all in good shape. The bunkers are fine if you play them as lift, smooth and place. The holes still have the foam inserts which don't affect the ball going in the cup. On this hot summer afternoon, they had a ranger making the rounds with free ice cold water bottles. I saw him at least 3 times on each side. He was Johnny-on-the-spot with the water! The carts have GPS and the pin positions were dialed in accurate -- something not all GPS systems do well. Only change since March I noticed is that they've removed the wooden stairs beside the 18th green and sodded with grass. You can't even tell the stairs ever existed and this is a good change. The stairs were not necessary and even though they weren't really in play, it's good to have a nice big bailout spot now that's all grass. Rocky River has had a great year as far as conditions go and it is now a top 5 course here in the Charlotte area. Go play it!

    Read The Review
  • 7/25/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Great course"

    Could not beat the deal. Course was fine tee to green. Pace of play was solid for a Saturday. Didn't really wait or have anyone behind us either.

    Read The Review
  • 6/12/20 - Review by syncgolf

    "Perfect"

    Staff & Pace of play was very good despite the course being packed. Outstanding greens rolled very quick and true, fairways freshly mowed, rough wasn't too long yet. Its a great Dan Maples design with multi-tiered greens and country club like course conditions. First time I have player in several years and will be back very soon! One of the finest public tracks in #CLTGolf

    Read The Review
  • 4/8/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Rocky River is in fantastic shape tee to green -- the best of any public course I've played this year so far. Fairways in particular were nice and lush and providing lots of roll on tee shots. Greens were near perfect (with one exception noted below) and very quick. I still have trouble reading these Bermuda greens though and I didn't make anything over 10 or 12 feet all day. Tees and sand bunkers were also good. We were able to take individual carts and the pace was brisk starting at 8:30. Not crowded at all. The hole cups had foam fillers which made it easy to retrieve our holed putts without disrupting anything. The snack bar was open and stocked. The only issue on the course was the repaired spot on #4 green. It looks like maybe they had some vandalism on that green a little while back and had to sod a 10 foot wide strip through the middle of the green. The hole was cut away from it and it didn't affect my putt rolling across the strip from the other side of the green. So not a big issue just an anomaly. Overall, these were the best conditions I've played in recently (see my reviews for Warrior, Monroe, and Springfield -- I've also played Skybrook and Olde Sycamore). This course is Top 5 Charlotte material.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer