Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

The Tradition Golf Club
3800 Prosperity Church Road
Charlotte, NC 28269
(704) 503-7529
www.thetraditiongolfclub.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.53 stars - "Worth playing" (17 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $46, Weekend $58

Practice Area:

Driving range with grass tees, a putting green near #1 tee and a putting/chipping green near #10 tee.

Course photo

Description

This course is located just 5 minutes off I-85 near the University area. It features elevated tees and greens with many hills and rolling fairways.

Notes

Several different monthly memberships available, including reciprocity at The Divide, Highland Creek, and Waterford.

B-Man's Take

This course doesn't offer many surprises. It's pretty much straightforward. The holes get tough mostly because of some large, severely sloped, elevated greens and too much brush in the woods causing balls to get lost. It does have 3 sets of Men's tees, ranging from 6100 yards to almost 7000. The forward White tees at 6121 yds offer plenty of challenge even with several par 4's under 340 and all four par 5's under 500. From any tee, the 528 yard par 5 3rd hole will be tough, with a ditch to carry for your second shot that turns uphill and to the right. The green was the toughest on the course -- a large, severely sloped dome. I like the 547 yard par 5 14th hole, which gives you a chance to reach in 2. All-in-all, a fun course to play.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72697872.9140
Men's (Green)72648470.9133
Other (White)72612168.4126
Ladies (Red)72544369.8128
View the complete scorecard for this course

News & Updates

  • 5/6/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    Tradition is in good shape. Greens were rolling good, above average speed and no issues. They are not quick, mind you. Fairways, tees and bunkers were all fine. Off of those and it's just okay, which is what Tradition is, in my opinion. It's a good course and worth playing when it is in good shape like it's in now. However, it will never be one of my favorites. You have almost no chance to find a ball that veers off course. So much thick brush and trees and little creeks on every hole. It's easy to lose balls if you are not keeping the ball near the fairway (can you tell I had a rough day off the tee?). So I wouldn't recommend this course for a beginner or high handicapper. Not because the course is that difficult - it's got several great scoring opportunities for better players - just because it isn't that fun to play when you are losing a ball and having no option to play another shot on so many holes. I'm sure if I played here more I would get used to it and know which holes to be conservative off the tee. Let's just say this course isn't very forgiving. And the $46 price for a weekday morning is no bargain. That said, the round played swiftly as far as pace and the experience itself was good. Tradition is using upside hole cups and they didn't affect play.

    Read The Review
  • 4/22/20 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Worth playing"

    $31 was after sharing a Buy one/Get one coupon. Not really a BOGO as you still have to pay a $20 cart fee, but still better than the current $42 rate. (Side note: Many courses have raised their prices, I think because they are setting 15 +/- minute tee time intervals instead of the usual 8 or so minutes. So the typical $25 round at the likes of Traditon, Emerald Lake, Divide, etc. are now almost twice that). Tradition is in fine shape. Fairways are filling in well and the greens, fairly recently aerated, are rolling true. The cups are turned upside down, so the ball doesn't fall below the lip and everyone gets their own cart (at no additional fee).

    Read The Review
  • 4/5/20 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Worth playing"

    Overall the course was in good shape. Wet in spots, but 90* rule was in place. Everyone took their own carts, and the range was shut down due to state/county mandate. Greens are in good shape- playing early helps as you avoid alot of spike marks later in the day. Bunkers are in decent shape, some wetter than others but still playable. Worth playing, but not the best in the area. Booked on Wednesday and still had most of the tee times open. Asked in the pro shop Saturday and they said any two some that books will likely not be paired with anyone- so that can limit some tee times.

    Read The Review
  • 10/6/19 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Great course"

    First time playing this course and overall I was impressed. Booked the tee time Thursday afternoon and got a 9am tee time on a day the weather was supposed to turn really nice, so I was slightly worried that this course wasn't going to be very good. I was wrong. Course was pretty green and in good shape. The bent grass greens are in good shape, but some idiot in a group in front of us was tearing them up with his/her spikes. Made it tough to put. Overall, worth the price. Good course and will play again soon.

    Read The Review
  • 5/22/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Worth playing"

    So since I use these review so much, I determined to start writing my own. Why I have the three worst scores in a row of all year as soon as I do is embarassing. Tradition is in great shape. The greens are in excellent condition, a bit slower than they look but receptive a roll true. Some of the old Tradition broccoli is still in the fringe but it looks like they figured out how to hold it back. Fairways are all in great shape and most all tee boxes are as well with the exeption of #15 which has almost none for some reason. Seems Pinnacle Properties is doing a pretty good job of turning around the likes of Birkdale, Skybrook, Tradition, etc.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer