Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

The Tradition Golf Club
3800 Prosperity Church Road
Charlotte, NC 28269
(704) 503-7529
www.thetraditiongolfclub.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.67 stars - "Worth playing" (18 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $46, Weekend $58

Practice Area:

Driving range with grass tees, a putting green near #1 tee and a putting/chipping green near #10 tee.

Course photo

Description

This course is located just 5 minutes off I-85 near the University area. It features elevated tees and greens with many hills and rolling fairways.

Notes

Several different monthly memberships available, including reciprocity at The Divide, Highland Creek, and Waterford.

B-Man's Take

This course doesn't offer many surprises. It's pretty much straightforward. The holes get tough mostly because of some large, severely sloped, elevated greens and too much brush in the woods causing balls to get lost. It does have 3 sets of Men's tees, ranging from 6100 yards to almost 7000. The forward White tees at 6121 yds offer plenty of challenge even with several par 4's under 340 and all four par 5's under 500. From any tee, the 528 yard par 5 3rd hole will be tough, with a ditch to carry for your second shot that turns uphill and to the right. The green was the toughest on the course -- a large, severely sloped dome. I like the 547 yard par 5 14th hole, which gives you a chance to reach in 2. All-in-all, a fun course to play.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72697872.9140
Men's (Green)72648470.9133
Other (White)72612168.4126
Ladies (Red)72544369.8128
View the complete scorecard for this course

News & Updates

  • 8/29/21 - Review by jlong8004

    "Great course"

    First time playing the course. From what I understand they just completely replaced the greens and did some major landscaping (removing trees primarily). I would have never guessed this past Sunday was the first weekend since they re-opened because the greens look amazing! A little grainy and slow, but roll true and no bald spots / crab grass. Fairways looked great, rough is super thick lol, tee boxes were good for the most part but some could use a trim. The layout is tight, but manageable for your average golfer, be prepared to put the driver away more than once.

    Read The Review
  • 4/15/21 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "3 Courses To Be Renovated This Year"

    Just got some very interesting and exciting news... three Charlotte-area courses will be getting new Bermuda greens this year:

    Harry L. Jones Sr. Course (formerly Renaissance Park)
    Tradition Golf Club
    Birkdale Golf Club

    Exact timing is not set yet but I should be able to confirm dates within a week or two. These will likely be summer to early Fall projects, similar to the renovation of The Divide last year.

    The Harry Jones renovation is one step in a long-range master plan that sounds amazing. I can't share details just yet but what I've heard so far sounds really cool!

    Stay tuned!

    Read More
  • 4/11/21 - Review by THE BIG SHOW

    "Great course"

    We had a 12:00pm tee time for Sunday afternoon, got there early and the starter kindly let us go off 30 minutes before our tee time. It was a sunny but windy day on the course. Greens were in good condition for this time of year. I don't think they have punched yet so if you are planning to play there i would call ahead to see if they have or are going to punch them soon. Fairways were in decent shape, some starting to green up and just need those warmer 70 degree temps at night before they really take off. Bunkers were hit or miss. Some tees still thin and they will come back once growing season starts. The course was busy but pace of play was right on time being a Sunday afternoon. Definitely worth playing and a friendly staff as well.

    Read The Review
  • 2/27/21 - Review by KyleSmith

    "Worth playing"

    Extremely wet course (obviously). If its rained in the past 3-4 days at all, think twice about this course because its going to be cart path only and incredibly soggy. That being said, the course itself was in good shape. I like Tradition because you know what you are going to get. An average/above average public course with decent greens and some wear/tear in other spots, but playable nonetheless. If it dries out some, this place will be fun this summer.

    Read The Review
  • 10/8/20 - Review by Jonny

    "Worth playing"

    I was feeling a little intimidated about playing this course after reading a lot of reviews on various web sites. Especially about the amount of water and the severe doglegs. I found none of that to be true. I guess it's all relative right? Water does come into play on #8 which is a 115 yard par 3 over water. The balance of the water they refer to are either ponds that run alongside the fairway or creeks you may encounter that cross the fairway. Overall this is a very nice course and plays very well. The Fairways and Greens are in great shape for the most part. On hole #16 there is a strip of new sod that runs all the way across the green. For the most par the tee boxes were all green and in good shape. There were a few that were bare with little grass. It's very scenic and quiet, lots of wildlife and the fairways are wide open with strategic bunkers on most holes. It was 10/8/20 and the high was 85 but it was sunny and a nice breeze and just a perfect day for golf in the Carolinas! They have 2 driving ranges and a practice putting green. The Staff was very friendly and helpful. It was $35 bucks to ride 18 for the Senior rate which is a great value for a course of this caliber. The carts are electric and all in good repair. They won't let you take the cart into the parking lot so it's best to drop your bag and then park. I would recommend this course.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Birkdale Golf Club


"Great course"

12/2/21: Review by KirklandSpecial

The new bigger greens are taking nicely. They roll true and with the reduced tree coverage around the greens and fairway, the course is in great shape. Iíve played 3 of the tee boxes and love the different course from each distance. Pace of play has been solid. 4 hour,...

Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer