Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course
1525 West Tyvola Road
Charlotte, NC 28217
(704) 357-3373
www.charlottepublicgolf.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

2.3 stars - "Average" (5 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $35, Weekend $45

Practice Area:

Driving range with grass tees, large chipping/pitching area with sand bunker, and a putting green.

Course photo

Description

This public course, formerly known as Renaissance Park, is located off I-77 near the old Charlotte Coliseum site and across from the Renaissance Park athletic complex. It's also across the street from a great practice facility (Leatherman's). The layout features a wide variety of holes, several with elevated tees or greens. The back nine particularly feels like a mountain course as it winds through trees and streams.

Notes

This course is now operated by Ratcliffe Golf Services (RGS), which offers a variety of affordable membership options that include 4 other courses -- Charles T. Myers and the beginner-friendly Revolution Park (9 hole), Sunset Hills and Paradise Valley (Par 3).

B-Man's Take

I use to play here quite a bit when it was known as Renaissance Park. I had a few bad experiences with the conditions and hole closures though and waited for good feedback before I returned. Ratcliffe has gotten it mostly back in shape. The course is fun to play with all the elevation changes, especially on the back nine. It helps to know the layout because there are quite a few blind shots. The course plays long and has several tough required carries over water/marsh. One cool hole is the 220yd par 3 13th, with its elevated tee some 150 ft above the green. The toughest holes are probably the closing 3 - a 3 shot par 5 with an approach over a pond, then a sloping dogleft par 4 with the green down in a valley, and a blind tee shot par 4 with an approach guarded by another pond. In general, the conditions here (fairways, rough, greens) are just okay, but the layout is unique.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Green)72736074.8132
Men's (Gold)72673072.1129
Other (Black)72611570.3123
Ladies (Forward)72531570.6120
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 4/15/21 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "3 Courses To Be Renovated This Year"

    Just got some very interesting and exciting news... three Charlotte-area courses will be getting new Bermuda greens this year:

    Harry L. Jones Sr. Course (formerly Renaissance Park)
    Tradition Golf Club
    Birkdale Golf Club

    Exact timing is not set yet but I should be able to confirm dates within a week or two. These will likely be summer to early Fall projects, similar to the renovation of The Divide last year.

    The Harry Jones renovation is one step in a long-range master plan that sounds amazing. I can't share details just yet but what I've heard so far sounds really cool!

    Stay tuned!

    Read More
  • 10/22/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Average"

    My neighbor and I were the first to tee off at 7:40 and were finished by 11 so pace of play was not an issue as it was in my last two reviews. This was one of the first courses I played when I first moved here 25 years ago and it was our home course when we played in the Charlotte Golf League in 2000? I love the layout , the links style front and the parkland style back are so different. My only complaint was the condition of the greens. They were being mowed ahead of us and were still incredibly slow and many had bare spots, #13 and 15 were in the worst shape. I thought I had read on this website that this course was going to be shut down to be re-routed to make maintenance easier. Not sure if this is still going to happen but I hope they go with new greens too, Bermuda instead of Bent .

    Read The Review
  • 6/6/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Below average"

    I get it is a muni. But for $10-20 more for a round I'll play elsewhere. Greens were shaggy/slow, layout is goofy. No transition areas. Bunkers were surprisingly decent. A few cool holes. I'd love to see Charlotte have a great muni like Torrey or Coronado or Bethpage. But none of them are close to being repeat rounds for me.

    Read The Review
  • 5/11/19 - Review by nstoudt

    "Average"

    The course was in decent condition. Greens were a little long so they rolled slow but overall not bad.

    Read The Review
  • 6/7/18

    I had a great chat with Del Ratcliffe this week about plans for all of his courses, including the Harry Jones course near Renaissance Park. Plans are not yet finalized but they have brought in Ron Garl (he designed the now closed Regent Park golf course) to consult on a likely redesign of all 18 holes. This municipal course has many holes built on the site of a former city landfill which presents many challenges for the maintenance and upkeep of good playing conditions. If the redesign proposal moves forward, the course would likely be closed for 18-24 months. This is one of the reasons Ratcliffe Golf Services is investing now in making improvements to their other courses -- Charles T Myers (new greens this summer), the Sifford Course at Revolution Park and Sunset Hills. I'll keep you posted as I hear more about the plans for this course.

    Read More


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Latest Forum Post

Birkdale CLOSED until August

By MosherH'ville on 6/15/21

Appears the new greens are going in at Birkdale. Walked up to practice and they said everything is dead and closed until some time in August.

Instagram

@charlottegolfer