Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Tillery Tradition Country Club


"Great course"

10/13/21: Review by tvrepairex

This course was in the best shape I have ever seen it.The fairways were lush,the tee boxes good,and the greens the best of any I've played this year.This last point was the news.Tillery has always seemed to have issues with their greens,even after replacing them within the...

Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course
1525 West Tyvola Road
Charlotte, NC 28217
(704) 357-3373
www.charlottepublicgolf.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

2.75 stars - "Worth playing" (6 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $35, Weekend $45

Practice Area:

Driving range with grass tees, large chipping/pitching area with sand bunker, and a putting green.

Course photo

Description

This public course, formerly known as Renaissance Park, is located off I-77 near the old Charlotte Coliseum site and across from the Renaissance Park athletic complex. It's also across the street from a great practice facility (Leatherman's). The layout features a wide variety of holes, several with elevated tees or greens. The back nine particularly feels like a mountain course as it winds through trees and streams.

Notes

This course is now operated by Ratcliffe Golf Services (RGS), which offers a variety of affordable membership options that include 4 other courses -- Charles T. Myers and the beginner-friendly Revolution Park (9 hole), Sunset Hills and Paradise Valley (Par 3).

B-Man's Take

I use to play here quite a bit when it was known as Renaissance Park. I had a few bad experiences with the conditions and hole closures though and waited for good feedback before I returned. Ratcliffe has gotten it mostly back in shape. The course is fun to play with all the elevation changes, especially on the back nine. It helps to know the layout because there are quite a few blind shots. The course plays long and has several tough required carries over water/marsh. One cool hole is the 220yd par 3 13th, with its elevated tee some 150 ft above the green. The toughest holes are probably the closing 3 - a 3 shot par 5 with an approach over a pond, then a sloping dogleft par 4 with the green down in a valley, and a blind tee shot par 4 with an approach guarded by another pond. In general, the conditions here (fairways, rough, greens) are just okay, but the layout is unique.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Green)72736074.8132
Men's (Gold)72673072.1129
Other (Black)72611570.3123
Ladies (Forward)72531570.6120
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 7/19/21 - Review by jlong8004

    "Worth playing"

    Considering the greens are brand new you really can not beat the quality of this course for the price! Course has serious potential. I love the layout. The front 9 is fairly straight forward, what you see is what you get. The back 9, however, is a different animal entirely! Course management is a must on the back 9! Overall it is a great value at $37. Staff has really worked hard to bring this course back from the dead.

    Read The Review
  • 7/16/21 - Review by RML2134

    "Worth playing"

    Saw they re-seeded the fairways and greens so I figured I'd give it a shot. Still your typical run of the mill municipal course. Very serviceable. Greens were extremely slow, but I'm assuming that's because they haven't rolled them at all since they re-seeded. Hopefully they pick up speed as they grow in. Other than that, course was in really good shape. Had a foursome with a younger kid in front of us, but still kept pace. Wouldn't mind going here again to get some work in.

    Read The Review
  • 7/1/21 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "Harry Jones Re-Opening with new Bermuda greens"

    The Harry Jones course (formerly Renaissance Park) re-opens this Friday, July 2nd with their brand new Bermuda grass greens. Tee times are available ranging from $37 to $45 this weekend. If anyone checks it out, please post a review and update the group on conditions. Here's the email announcement:

    Harry Jones Golf Course Re-Opens Friday July 2nd

    Read More
  • 4/15/21 - Forum Posting by The B-Man titled "3 Courses To Be Renovated This Year"

    Just got some very interesting and exciting news... three Charlotte-area courses will be getting new Bermuda greens this year:

    Harry L. Jones Sr. Course (formerly Renaissance Park)
    Tradition Golf Club
    Birkdale Golf Club

    Exact timing is not set yet but I should be able to confirm dates within a week or two. These will likely be summer to early Fall projects, similar to the renovation of The Divide last year.

    The Harry Jones renovation is one step in a long-range master plan that sounds amazing. I can't share details just yet but what I've heard so far sounds really cool!

    Stay tuned!

    Read More
  • 10/22/20 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Average"

    My neighbor and I were the first to tee off at 7:40 and were finished by 11 so pace of play was not an issue as it was in my last two reviews. This was one of the first courses I played when I first moved here 25 years ago and it was our home course when we played in the Charlotte Golf League in 2000? I love the layout , the links style front and the parkland style back are so different. My only complaint was the condition of the greens. They were being mowed ahead of us and were still incredibly slow and many had bare spots, #13 and 15 were in the worst shape. I thought I had read on this website that this course was going to be shut down to be re-routed to make maintenance easier. Not sure if this is still going to happen but I hope they go with new greens too, Bermuda instead of Bent .

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Tillery Tradition Country Club


"Great course"

10/13/21: Review by tvrepairex

This course was in the best shape I have ever seen it.The fairways were lush,the tee boxes good,and the greens the best of any I've played this year.This last point was the news.Tillery has always seemed to have issues with their greens,even after replacing them within the...

Latest Forum Post

doug_riley@bellsouth.net

By IM4DHERD on 8/27/21

Anyone been out to Red Bridge lately? Heard they about lost their greens a while back?

Instagram

@charlottegolfer