Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Harry L. Jones Sr. Golf Course
1525 West Tyvola Road
Charlotte, NC 28217
(704) 357-3373
www.charlottepublicgolf.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

1.93 stars - "Below average" (7 reviews)

Type:

Public

Rates:

Weekday $35, Weekend $45

Practice Area:

Driving range with grass tees, large chipping/pitching area with sand bunker, and a putting green.

Course photo

Description

This public course, formerly known as Renaissance Park, is located off I-77 near the old Charlotte Coliseum site and across from the Renaissance Park athletic complex. It's also across the street from a great practice facility (Leatherman's). The layout features a wide variety of holes, several with elevated tees or greens. The back nine particularly feels like a mountain course as it winds through trees and streams.

Notes

This course is now operated by Ratcliffe Golf Services (RGS), which offers a variety of affordable membership options that include 4 other courses -- Charles T. Myers and the beginner-friendly Revolution Park (9 hole), Sunset Hills and Paradise Valley (Par 3).

B-Man's Take

I use to play here quite a bit when it was known as Renaissance Park. I had a few bad experiences with the conditions and hole closures though and waited for good feedback before I returned. Ratcliffe has gotten it mostly back in shape. The course is fun to play with all the elevation changes, especially on the back nine. It helps to know the layout because there are quite a few blind shots. The course plays long and has several tough required carries over water/marsh. One cool hole is the 220yd par 3 13th, with its elevated tee some 150 ft above the green. The toughest holes are probably the closing 3 - a 3 shot par 5 with an approach over a pond, then a sloping dogleft par 4 with the green down in a valley, and a blind tee shot par 4 with an approach guarded by another pond. In general, the conditions here (fairways, rough, greens) are just okay, but the layout is unique.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Green)72736074.8132
Men's (Gold)72673072.1129
Other (Black)72611570.3123
Ladies (Forward)72531570.6120
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour and discount coupons for this course.

News & Updates

  • 6/6/20 - Review by Hunter

    "Below average"

    I get it is a muni. But for $10-20 more for a round I'll play elsewhere. Greens were shaggy/slow, layout is goofy. No transition areas. Bunkers were surprisingly decent. A few cool holes. I'd love to see Charlotte have a great muni like Torrey or Coronado or Bethpage. But none of them are close to being repeat rounds for me.

    Read The Review
  • 5/11/19 - Review by nstoudt

    "Average"

    The course was in decent condition. Greens were a little long so they rolled slow but overall not bad.

    Read The Review
  • 6/7/18

    I had a great chat with Del Ratcliffe this week about plans for all of his courses, including the Harry Jones course near Renaissance Park. Plans are not yet finalized but they have brought in Ron Garl (he designed the now closed Regent Park golf course) to consult on a likely redesign of all 18 holes. This municipal course has many holes built on the site of a former city landfill which presents many challenges for the maintenance and upkeep of good playing conditions. If the redesign proposal moves forward, the course would likely be closed for 18-24 months. This is one of the reasons Ratcliffe Golf Services is investing now in making improvements to their other courses -- Charles T Myers (new greens this summer), the Sifford Course at Revolution Park and Sunset Hills. I'll keep you posted as I hear more about the plans for this course.

    Read More
  • 10/5/17 - Review by The B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    My first time back at RP in several years. I do enjoy the uniqueness of the layout, with lots of elevation changes and hilly terrain, a few blind shots. It was very familiar even having not played here in so long. That said, the course is quirky. Lies will be hit or miss everywhere. Since so many holes are sloped and hilly even fairway lies will be iffy. The fairways were in good shape for the most part. The rough on many holes had not been mowed recently, so we nearly lost a few balls in it. The greens on the front 9 were really good and quick. The back 9 was like a completely different course and very disappointing. Most of the greens were nearly unputtable due to sandy bare spots. Count two putts and pick up your ball. That bad. Not sure why the front 9 and back 9 were like night and day. I will say that the pro shop attendant mentioned that they had aerated 2 weeks ago and gave us a coupon for $20 off our next round if we come back in the next 2 weeks. I won't have a chance to use it and the expiration was kinda short, but it was a nice gesture. I do enjoy the challenge of this course so it was fun being back, but I'd like to see the back 9 greens in better shape when I play next.

    Read The Review
  • 8/12/16 - Review by Swingandamiss

    "Below average"

    Played Renaissance this morning for the first time, and saw alot of what the previous reviewers were talking about. The course was in rough shape, perhaps due to the rain, and overall not a great experience. The course does have some interesting holes, especially in the back 9 though, which make it worthwhile. The staff in the pro shop were nice, as well as the Marshal, but the folks performing maintenance on the course were incredibly rude. We were followed for 4 holes by someone mowing the fairways, who kept crossing our shots seemingly on purpose. All that said though, $28 for 18 holes is a great bargain, and we expected the rough conditions. Overall I wouldn't play here over the weekends, but if you're looking for a course to practice on this will work.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer