Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Waterford Golf Club
1900 Clubhouse Road
Rock Hill, SC 29730
(888) 203-9222
www.thelinksatwaterford.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

3.96 stars - "Great course" (13 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $43, Weekend $55

Practice Area:

Driving range, short game practice area with sand bunker and a large, undulating putting green.

Course photo

Description

This former Carolina Trail course is about 10 miles south of the NC-SC border on I-77. It was designed by PGA Tour star Hale Irwin with the tee box names honoring his Major championship victories. Nestled along the Catawba River, this layout plays difficult off the tee with marshes, wetlands and plain ol' water hazards threatening on a majority of the holes.

Notes

Waterford came under new management in 2014 and memberships & discounts can now be shared across its former sister courses in the old Carolina Trail -- The Divide, Tradition, Highland Creek, and Birkdale.

B-Man's Take

Nice course, but tough. If you are having trouble with wayward tee shots, stay away from Waterford or bring several sleeves of golf balls. I've played this course in a couple of tournaments and one 36-hole day on my own. The holes are all very unique and exciting to play, but you've got to be accurate off the tee. This course was in great shape every time I played it. I consider it the best maintained of the 4 main Carolina Trail courses (that excludes Highland Creek). My favorite hole is the 548yd par 5 2nd hole, simply because I play it well. The #1 handicap, 423yd par 4 13th hole lives up to its billing. Heavily sloped fairway is tough to land, then you have a long approach to a sloped green protected by a bunker and creek/ditch.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Winged Foot)72694272.9137
Men's (Inverness)72651371.2130
Other (Medinah)72601969.7126
Ladies (Medinah-W)72601972.9133
Ladies (Waterford)72498968.2112
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

GolfHoles.com - Photo tour of all 18 holes

News & Updates

  • 5/24/20 - Review by Wes.hunter

    "Great course"

    First time playing here! Found a great deal online and took a chance. Fairsways were amazing, greens were fast. T boxes could use alittle work in some holes but all in all had an amazing experience

    Read The Review
  • 10/30/19 - Forum Posting by IM4DHERD titled "Panthers buying Waterford"

    Panthers buying Waterford Golf Club in Rock Hill

    Read More
  • 8/5/19 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    I received an email from Waterford on 7/24 that their greens had recovered from a root disease and decided to give it a try after playing it in early May posting here to stay away. The greens were in very good condition as was the rest of the course. Due to the heavy rain on Sunday the bunkers were a little firm but overall very satisfied. This is one of my favorite courses and I am so glad its back it great shape.

    Read The Review
  • 5/4/19 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Bad, stay away"

    Let me start by saying that Waterford is one of my favorite golf courses in the Charlotte area. I have played this course several times this year and it has always been in good shape so I was shocked to see the condition of the greens and tee boxes. I am not sure what is going on with the greens but they were almost bare as were the tee boxes. Not sure if this is related to all the rain we have had in the past half year or what. The pace of play was 4 hours and 40 mins which is way too slow for me. When my threesome got to the twelth tee box there was the twosome that was ahead of us on the tee, in the fairway was a threesome and on the green was another threesome. I called the pro shop to ask for a ranger and was told no ranger was on duty that day due to only 45 golfers having signed up to play. I explained that all those 45 golfers were on the 12th hole at the same time. I had found out earlier that a tournament had been scheduled for May 4th but was canceled due to not enough golfers signing up. Maybe they saw the conditions of the greens and tee boxes? I hope the greens and tee boxes come back to their normally great condition as this is one of my favorite courses.

    Read The Review
  • 10/13/17 - Review by syncgolf

    "Great course"

    course was in great condition balls sits perfect in fairways greens rolled smooth. Great shot variety and most bang for your buck too

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer