Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Highland Creek Golf Club
7001 Highland Creek Parkway
Charlotte, NC 28269
(704) 875-9000
www.highlandcreekgolfclub.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

2.62 stars - "Average" (26 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $45, Weekend $55

Practice Area:

Driving range with grass tees, sloped putting green (very indicative of actual greens), chipping area.

Course photo

Description

This residential course near Huntersville lives up to the Creek in its name, with water hazards coming into play on 10 holes. It has experienced some decay in course conditions over the past several years due to the turnover in management. It used to be one of the better kept and most challenging public courses in Charlotte. I have my fingers crossed that it will return to its former status in the future.

Notes

Highland Creek came under new management in 2014 and memberships & discounts can now be shared across its former sister courses in the old Carolina Trail -- The Divide, Tradition, Birkdale, and Waterford.

B-Man's Take

I used to play this course quite a bit with a friend who lived in the neighborhood. The Carolina Trail demise took a serious toll on the course conditions unfortunately. At times over the past few years (2016-2018), the course has been virtually unplayable. If you play here, please post a review and let us know how it's shaping up. As for the course itself, some of my toughest rounds have been played here. Easy to lose golf balls in the namesake creek, which runs along seemingly every hole. You must be accurate off the tee and with approach shots to stay out of trouble here. Otherwise, you're in for a long round. My favorite hole is #18, the signature 487yd par 5 finishing hole that is reachable in two provided you carry the water all along the right side with 2 shots. Several hell-holes for me on this course, but in particular the 419yd par 4 4th hole is a brutal dogleg left because of a narrow target for your approach, guarded by trees and bunkers. The 560yd par 5 12th is also a brute, with two tough-to-hit fairways and an approach over water.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Gold)72704374.0137
Men's (Blue)72652071.5136
Other (White)72600168.6130
Ladies (Red)72508069.8134
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers 18-hole photo tour for this course.

News & Updates

  • 6/14/21 - Review by BRR

    "Worth playing"

    Greens were still recovering from aeration and were a little slow. Course was in good shape otherwise. This course requires accurate shot making. Anything offline or off-distance is penalized. Scrambling skills are necessary. I enjoyed the course. I'll definitely be back.

    Read The Review
  • 4/30/21 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    First time playing here in several years. The greens were good, still some signs of recent aeration, but putted pretty smooth. Tee boxes, bunkers and fairways were in good shape. I love the layout of this course, it was one of, if not my favorite Charlotte area course until it fell on hard times. Hope the bent grass greens can hold up to summer weather here in the Carolinas. Not sure why they didn't go to Bermuda greens like everyone else seems to be.

    Read The Review
  • 9/21/20 - Review by Jonny

    "Average"

    I played this course on a Monday in September, it was sunny and about 70 degrees but a very strong & gusty wind, maybe 20 to 25 mph. I had never played this course before so that certainly impacted conditions of play and my experience overall. I would say, the front nine on this course is much better than the back nine. The back has many holes with blind shots, extreme dog legs, many berms with rolling hills and fairway and green side bunkers that are not easily visible and can make it difficult playing the first time. In general the course is OK. The tee boxes and fairways are good. There are some narrow fairways on many holes where you are heavily penalized and risk going into the high rough on fairway lined creeks. The greens were mixed, OK on some holes but on most of them pock marked with un-repaired ball marks. The pace of play was good on a Monday afternoon, I was playing solo and had a twosome in front of me and a solo in back of me. I was able to play 18 holes in about 3 hours. The toughest hole is the Par 5, 18th that plays 460 yards but you have water at about the 150 yard mark which is a challenge. The Staff is nice, the gas carts were clean and in good order. Visually, it's nice with ponds, creeks and branches running throughout. The cart paths wind through the housing area, I crossed under 3 tunnels where the road goes over. When you come off the 17th green and drive the cart path you come to a large lake and the road forks. There is no sign. There was a nice man walking his dog and he said "the 18th tee is that way'. Otherwise I would have had no idea I needed to go left. It's a decent value overall I would say. I got the GolfNow discount at $38 bucks. It's about 45 minutes from my house in Fort Mill, SC so it wasn't really an exceptional enough experience to make me feel as though I would want to play it again as there are too many better choices that are much closer to where I live.

    Read The Review
  • 7/22/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    Played this in a scramble tournament so not a regulation round. The Bentgrass greens are still doing okay. Just a crap ton of unfixed ballmarks on every hole. The greens are very soft and average speed. The downhillers will roll out a bit but you'll need to take a good whack at the uphill ones. Conditions around the rest of the course were fine, though many bunkers have not been touched by the maintenance crew. This seems to be a trend around some of the courses here lately. Without the rakes, courses should be giving the bunkers some love every day. All in all, this course is in about the best shape it's been in the past few years, but it still ranks in the lower half of my Charlotte rankings due to the conditions / $$$ value combo.

    Read The Review
  • 4/25/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Worth playing"

    Finally got back up to Highland Creek in Huntersville. I had been seeing and hearing better things lately and I used to play here often with a friend who lived in the community. I had modest expectations and I'll say the course met them. The Bentgrass greens were fine -- not great, not bad. The speed was decent but not fast. Putts seem to take more break because of that and that made shorter makeable putts more challenging today between the speed and the break. Perhaps I'm biased with some of the nicer courses I've been playing lately but it just goes to show that courses with smooth, fast greens stand out compared to the likes of Highland Creek. The bigger issue with the greens was the collars and areas just off the edges of greens. On several holes there was no grass on the edges, just several feet worth of bare dirt and/or weed clumps. This issue made chips and putts from just off the green dicey. Tee boxes were okay. Fairways were okay though there were some holes with the weed clumps here and there. Overall the turf conditions throughout the course was just kinda average. That said, this course has a fantastic and very challenging layout that I really like. So the gem is there. They just gotta bring it back up a notch to where it was 10 or 12 years ago when it was one of the nicest public tracks in town. All the par 5's are scoreable and offer great risk reward options -- especially the signature 18th hole, which surrendered my first eagle of the season! Much like other courses, this one is using the foam fillers in the cups, which don't affect play and do the job for not having to touch the flagstick. One note of caution, for now, this course (and supposedly others in Meck Co, though this is the first one I've heard this rule) strictly allows one rider to a cart, no matter your relation to the person. At the end of the day, I enjoyed revisiting an old favorite, but I will likely give this course another season to improve before I come back.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Eagle Chase Golf Club


"Great course"

6/21/21: Review by THE BIG SHOW

Played here for the first time 6/19/2021. We drove an hour and half (90 miles) to play there. We had a 9:20 tee time. Course was everything we were told it would be. Course was in great condition, great greens. Lots of elevation change through out the course, $53 for...

Latest Forum Post

Birkdale CLOSED until August

By MosherH'ville on 6/15/21

Appears the new greens are going in at Birkdale. Walked up to practice and they said everything is dead and closed until some time in August.

Instagram

@charlottegolfer