Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Eagle Chase Golf Club
3215 Brantley Road
Marshville, NC 28103
(704) 385-9000
www.playeaglechase.com
Map & Directions

Review Rating:

4.13 stars - "Great course" (34 reviews)

Type:

Semi-Private

Rates:

Weekday $36, Weekend $49

Practice Area:

Driving range with grass tees. Putting green.

Course photo

Description

This course is hidden among the farms in Union County. No houses or other civilization to intrude on your round. Just golf. Plays like a mountain course, with an elevated tee or green on almost every hole. The greens were redone in Diamond Zoysia grass in 2013 and are some of the best in the area.

Notes

Affordable membership plans are available.

B-Man's Take

This course is a well-kept secret since it is a good 45-60 minute drive from uptown Charlotte. It is a fun course to play with the hills and elevated tees. The zoysia greens are usually immaculate. Water comes into play on the first 3 holes and 7 of 18 overall. My favorite holes are #6 (189yd par 3 with elevated tee and pond on the right) and #13 (332yd par 4 with pond on the right). My definite hell-hole on this course is #2 - a 412yd par 4 with an elevated tee looking down on a narrow fairway with water on both sides. I would pay $5 extra to play here if I could right down par and skip this hole every time. I try to make it out to Eagle Chase a few times a year. It is affordable and kept in great shape. One note of warning, the cart paths here are notoriously bad -- just skip them when you can and drive in the grass.

Tee Par Yardage Rating Slope
Championship (Blue)72672372.4137
Other (Tourney)72639470.4131
Men's (White)72599269.3126
Senior (Yellow)72502565.0112
Ladies (Red)72491869.1115
View the complete scorecard for this course

Links

Golfholes.com - Offers photo tour and discount coupons for this course

News & Updates

  • 5/30/20 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Eagle Chase was in good shape, despite all the rain. Tees, fairways and greens were fine with little or no puddles even with another mid round rain shower. Many bunkers had standing water though. With the no rakes, lift/clean/place rule already in effect, this didn't matter much. They have PVC pieces in the cups and they worked fine. Greens were smooth with nary a ballmark but they were a bit on the slow side, softened by the rain. Course was beautiful and fun to play as always. This course deserves its spot in my Top 10.

    Read The Review
  • 4/27/20 - Review by BetterThanMost

    "Great course"

    Played Eagle Chase on Monday. They are implementing several SD measures: One person to a cart (optional). No one in the clubhouse unless to use restroom. No rakes, sandbottles, ballwashers, etc. The driving range is open. The course itself is in decent shape. Teeboxes are mostly OK, with a few bare ones. Fairways have grass on them, but they are thin. Greens are in excellent shape. Bunkers are in good shape as well. The zoysia greens are extremely hard to read. A putt into the grain is like velcro, while a putt with the grain is very slick. They are doing some work on the path down to the 2nd green, so you actually cut across the white teebox on #2 and then use part of the path coming down from #4 tee. Everyone started on #10 the day we played; don't know if that's the case each day or not.

    Read The Review
  • 8/24/19 - Review by MGOBLUE

    "Great course"

    Agree with IM4DHERD's 7/7/19 review. Greens, fairways and tee boxes in great shape. With over 2 inches of rain last night some of the bunkers had casual water in them but I had no trouble getting out of two I found. Cart paths are indeed very bumpy. Played behind a very, very slow foursome which made for a 5 hour rd. One of my favorite courses.

    Read The Review
  • 7/7/19 - Review by IM4DHERD

    "Worth playing"

    Where it needs to be good, it is very good. Where it doesn't, not so much. Greens, fairways and teeboxes are in great shape. Sandtraps have a lot of gravel in the them, or at least the two I was in and others I observed walking by. Much of the cartpaths are so broken up as to be very uncomfortable, if not dangerous, to ride on. Outside of the fairways and some rough are a lot of bare areas, but this has always been the case.

    Read The Review
  • 5/14/19 - Review by The B-Man

    "Great course"

    Took a first timer out for his maiden round at Eagle Chase and he loved it. Greens were virtually perfect as they usually are. Carts were 90* despite weekend rainfall. A few bunkers had standing water but the maintenance crew was actively draining them on several holes (we teed off at 7:30am). So it was good to see them being proactive to quickly address it. Staff was very friendly to let us play through and did not interrupt our round.

    Read The Review


Your Profile

Login

New Here?

Sign Up
Please enter a valid email address
Please enter a valid password

or

Sign Up
List of Courses
Latest Review

Verdict Ridge Golf & Country Club


"Great course"

6/29/20: Review by RT

Verdict Ridge always delivers. Course is in excellent condition everywhere. Great layout. Quick pace of play.

Latest Forum Post

Swing Into Summer Golf Tournament - Red Bridge, Pinehurst - June 20-26

By The B-Man on 6/19/20

This is an interesting concept for a golf tournament being played on multiple courses - including Red Bridge and Pinehurst Resort - on multiple days to give participants the flexibility to pick their course and day. Check it out: THREE RIVERS LAND TRUST SWING INTO SUMMER...

Instagram

@charlottegolfer